Federal Home Loan Bank of Dallas Announces 2022 Advisory Board Members

DALLAS–(BUSINESS WIRE)–The Federal Home Loan Bank of Dallas (FHLB Dallas) is pleased to announce the appointment of four new members to its Affordable Housing Advisory Board (Advisory Board) and one reappointment.

New members:

  • Ms. Nicole Barnes, Louisiana Representative

  • Ms. Charla Blake, Louisiana Representative

  • Ms. Nicole Martinez, representative of New Mexico

  • Mr. Isidoro Hernandez, Housing Finance Representative, All Districts


  • Mrs. Angela Curry, Mississippi

The Advisory Board is comprised of 13 representatives from state, community, and nonprofit organizations from a five-state district who are appointed by the FHLB Dallas Board of Directors (Board) and advise the Board on housing matters affordability and economic development.

“We are delighted to have these four new members and the reappointment of Ms. Curry to the Advisory Council. Their wide variety of expertise and impressive depth of experience in housing and housing finance issues will play a key role in guiding FHLB Dallas on its community investment offerings in our five-state district,” said said Greg Hettrick, Senior Vice President and Director of Community Investment. for FHLB Dallas.

Since the inception of FHLB Dallas’ Affordable Housing Program (AHP) in 1990, FHLB Dallas has awarded $344.6 million through the AHP and Homeownership Set-Aside programs, helping nearly 60,000 households.

Newly elected:

Mrs Barnes is Executive Director of the Jericho Road Episcopal Housing Initiative, based in New Orleans, Louisiana, a neighborhood nonprofit homebuilder that provides affordable housing opportunities in the Southeast Louisiana region. She has held this position since 2012. Her experience includes 17 years in various roles with the New Orleans Housing Authority prior to her current role.

Mrs Blake has been executive director of Project Build a Future (PBAF), a nonprofit affordable housing builder, based in Lake Charles, Louisiana, since 2017. Previously, she was community development coordinator for the Arts and Humanities Council of southwestern Louisiana. She also sits on the Lake Charles Historic Preservation Commission.

Mrs Martinez is the Executive Director of Las Cruces, New Mexico-Mesilla Valley Community of Hope (MVCH) since 2011. MVCH provides shelter services to the homeless population of Las Cruces and Dona Ana County, New Mexico. She was appointed by the Governor to the New Mexico Housing Trust Fund Advisory Committee and is also a member of the New Mexico Mortgage Finance Authority Allocation Committee and Housing New Mexico Advisory Committee.

Mr. Isidoro Hernandez has served as Executive Director and CEO of the Albuquerque-based New Mexico Mortgage Finance Authority (MFA) since January 2020. Mr. Hernandez, of Los Lunas, New Mexico, is the Housing Finance Agency representative of the Advisory Board. The MFA is responsible for over 30 programs related to affordable housing, including construction and rehabilitation. He held various positions at the MFA over a period of 29 years. Mr. Hernandez also served 32 years in the New Mexico Army National Guard, where he retired as a colonel.

The following administrator has been renewed:

Ms Angela Curry at Executive Director of the Greenwood-Leflore-Carroll Economic Development Foundation, based in Greenwood, Mississippi, since 2008 and a member of the organization since 1998. Its mission is to foster and encourage the creation/retention of jobs and improving the quality of life in the Greenwood-Leflore-Carroll area. His professional affiliations include the Southern Economic Development Council and the Mississippi Economic Development Council.

Nominations began on January 1. Ms. Barnes will serve a two-year term. All other new appointees and Ms. Curry will serve three-year terms.

The other members of the Advisory Board are:

  • Mr. Jeff Curry, Director of Development, JL Gray Company, Inc., Las Cruces, New Mexico
  • Mr. Matt Hull, Executive Director, Texas Association of Community Development Corporations, Austin, Texas
  • Dr Calvin King Sr., President and CEO, Arkansas Land and Farm Development, Brinkley, Arkansas
  • Mr Chris Monforton (Vice Chairman of the Advisory Board), CEO, Habitat for Humanity Mississippi Gulf Coast, Gulfport, Mississippi
  • Mr Jim Petty, President and CEO, Strategic Realty Developers, Inc., Van Buren, Arkansas
  • Mr. Tim Pierce, Executive Director, South Plains Association of Governments, Lubbock, Texas
  • Mrs. Deborah Welchel, Senior Director of Development for Texas, Volunteers of America National Services, Lago Vista, Texas
  • Mrs. Jacques Haas Woodring (Chair of the Advisory Board), Chief of Staff, Prospera Housing Community Services, San Antonio, Texas

About Federal Home Loan Bank of Dallas

Federal Home Loan Bank of Dallas is one of 11 district banks in the FHLBank system established by Congress in 1932. FHLB Dallas, with total assets of $60.2 billion as of September 30, 2021, is a cooperative owned by its members that supports housing and community development by providing competitively priced loans and other credit products to approximately 800 members and associated institutions in Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Mexico and Texas . For more information visit our website at fhlb.com.